Student-athletes recognized at the luncheon of honor

The Golden Bears take center stage for their academic achievements

Cal’s best and brightest student-athletes gathered Monday at the Field Club at California Memorial Stadium for the annual Cal Athletics Academic Honors Luncheon, featuring an appearance by Chancellor Carol Christ and inspirational remarks from star Camryn Rogers. athletics.

Several California student-athletes have received a series of awards, including football’s selection of Rogers and Elijah Hicks for the Tom Hansen Medal, given annually to an outstanding student-athlete from each Pac-12 institution.

Rogers, a two-time NCAA hammer throw champion and 2020 Summer Olympian with her native Canada, expressed her gratitude for the support system that has encouraged her throughout her journey and encouraged her peers to make same.

“Finding ways to improve the lives of others through our relationships is one of the most rewarding feelings,” Rogers said. “Appreciating the impact someone has had on your life can open your eyes to the impact you can have on someone else’s.”

Below is the full list of lunch winners:

Tom Hansen Lecture Medal
The Thomas C. Hansen Conference Medal is awarded to an outstanding senior male and an outstanding senior student-athlete at each Pac-12 institution.

  • Elijah Hicks (soccer)
  • Camryn Rogers (women’s athletics)

Neufeld Scholar-Athlete Award

The Neufeld Scholar-Athlete Awards are presented to graduating male and female student-athletes with the highest GPAs. The award was established by Cal Hall of Famer William Neufeld Sr. in honor and memory of his son, William Jr., who raced track at Cal before his untimely death in a boating accident.

  • Men – Ryan Predergast (men’s rowing)
  • Women – Robin Neumann (women’s swimming)

Jake Gimbel Award and Anna Espenschade Award

The Jake Gimbel Award and the Anna Espenschade Award were established in the 1930s and 1987, respectively, to recognize a male and female graduate student-athlete for the successful integration of academic and athletic pursuits. The winners of these awards exemplify the true “Golden Bear” spirit.

  • Male – Matthew Cindric (soccer)
  • Female – Brynn Zorilla (Field Hockey)

Joseph McDonnell Kavanagh Award

This award, in its seventh year, recognizes the student-athlete who has made outstanding progress in their academic and intellectual pursuits at Cal. The University’s motto – Fiat Lux, “Let there be light” – is fitting for this award for most academically inspiring athlete.

Walter A. Haas Jr. Community Service Award

The Walter A. Haas Jr. Community Service Award was established to honor Walter A. Haas Jr. for his commitment and service to the University and the community at large. This award is presented annually to a student-athlete for their outstanding contribution to community service.

  • Trey Paster (soccer)
  • Riley Drullinger (lacrosse)
  • Fernando Andrade (men’s soccer)
  • Kaylee Nguyen (women’s soccer)

Jonathan and Judy Hoff Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year

The Jonathan and Judy Hoff Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award recognizes a football student-athlete who has dedicated himself to a holistic approach to academic, athletic, and personal development by demonstrating consistent daily routines, persistent community awareness, and ability of collaborative leadership.

Scholar of the Athletic Student Center – Athlete of the Year

The ASC Scholar-Athlete of the Week program honors a student-athlete for their academic development and achievements developed through practice, study habits, course performance, and leadership.

  • Mima Mirkovic (volleyball/beach volleyball)

The Golden Bear Achievement Awards are given to the student-athlete with the highest GPA on their respective team.

  • Baseball: Jag Burden (planned activity)
  • Men’s Basketball: Logan Alters (Business Administration)
  • Women’s basketball: Alma Elsnitz (political economy)
  • Beach Volleyball: Ainsley Radell (Business Administration)
  • Men’s Cross Country: Ethan Bersley (Joint Majority in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering)
  • Women’s cross-country: Gianna Beasley (psychology)
  • Field hockey: Sara Stone (social worker)
  • Football: Hunter Barth (planned commercial administration)
  • Men’s Golf: Aaron Du (Public Health)
  • Women’s Golf: Cristina Ochoa (planned saving)
  • Men’s Gymnastics: Jelani Sweet (Cognitive Science Planned)
  • Women’s gymnastics: Andi Li (planned integrative biology)
  • Lacrosse: Kate Rothman (planned political science)
  • Men’s rowing: Thomas Barrell (planned activity)
  • Women’s rowing: Ragnhild Winther (political science)
  • Rugby: Henry Poon (Business Administration)
  • Men’s Soccer: Oscar Logevall (Planned Media Studies)
  • Women’s Soccer: Natalie Hueston (Business Administration)
  • Softball: By Asha Saiki (Psychology)
  • Men’s Swimming and Diving: Tyler Kopp (Planned Business Administration)
  • Women’s Swimming and Diving: Emily Gantriis (Planned Business Administration)
  • Men’s Tennis: Lucas Magnaudet (Political Economy)
  • Women’s tennis: Camille Brown (psychology)
  • Men’s Athletics: Michael Gupta (IT)
  • Women’s athletics: Sydney Reid (Integrative Biology)
  • Volleyball: Samantha Taumoepeau (double major in philosophy and mathematics)
  • Men’s Water Polo: Brady Hoover (planned trade administration)
  • Women’s Water Polo: Sydney Hammill (Business Administration)

Naomi C. Amerson