Atkinson selected as FINA Athletes Committee Chair – Texas A&M Athletics

LAUSANNE, Switzerland — Alia Atkinson, a five-time Jamaican Olympian and former Texas A&M women’s swimming and diving specialist, has been chosen as chair of the FINA Athletes’ Committee. The organization announced its new president and vice-president, as well as the 20 athletes on the committee at a ceremony at the World Championships in Budapest this summer.

“I’m excited for the opportunities that come with this new role as Chairman of the FINA Athletes’ Committee,” said Atkinson. “With this athlete-elected position and committee, we are one step closer to helping bridge the gap between FINA and athletes. My predecessor has done a fantastic job creating new experiences for athletes and we hope to continue on this path to bring about a new era of equality, passion, health and education for all in the aquatic field.”

Atkinson, who retired in December after the 2021 World Short Course Championships, will lead the gender- and discipline-balanced Athlete Committee which is made up of competitors in swimming, diving, high-level diving, water polo, artistic swimming and open water swimming, and aims to play a major role in ensuring that all voices at the heart of aquatic sports are heard and represented equally. The new committee grows from 16 to 20 members who are now selected by their peers, and they will serve in their respective roles from 2022 to 2026.

“Alia has always been a great ambassador for Texas A&M swimming when she competed and she still does after her retirement. It’s good to see how respected and looked up to by other swimmers she is. a huge honor for her, Jamaica and Texas A&M,” said the Texas A&M women’s swimming and diving head coach. Steve Bultman.

Atkinson was a four-year winner for the Aggies from 2007-2010 and the 2010 NCAA champion in the 200 breaststroke. She has won 19 All-America accolades and was a three-time Big 12 champion in the 100 and 200 breaststrokes. A world champion and world record holder in the 100m breaststroke (SCM), Atkinson graduated from A&M with a degree in psychology and was inducted into the Texas A&M Lettermen’s Association Hall of Fame in 2019.

Naomi C. Amerson