As the Kerala Olympics 2022 begins, here is the list of winners so far

The first ever Kerala Olympics was inaugurated on Saturday by the Kerala Olympic Association in Thiruvananthapuram. The Kerala Games 2022 is a multi-sport mega event, which kicked off on Monday with a 21.1 km half marathon. Meanwhile, the taekwondo competition finals were held earlier on Sunday.

A look at the winners of Kerala Olympics 2022 so far

T Varun of Andhra Pradesh and T Praseetha of Manipur won the tournament’s first gold medals by winning the 68kg and 46kg categories respectively. Earlier this year, Varun won the gold medal at the All India University games, while Praseetha already took part in the 2018 world championship, which was held in Tunisia. The first day of the mega event only included the taekwondo competition.

8,000 athletes are expected

Meanwhile, Shivam Yadav and Preenu Yadav emerged victorious in the men’s and women’s half marathon categories on Monday. According to PTI, organizers said about 2000 participants from different parts of India took part in the race. The athletes and team participating in the Kerala Olympics have been selected through district level events and more than 8,000 sportsmen are expected to ply their trade.

What events will take place at the Kerala Olympics 2022?

The event will include events like athletics, water sports, archery, basketball, boxing, badminton, cycling, football, wrestling, hockey, judo, karate, kambadi (kabaddi), kho-kho, netball, rugby, shooting, wushu, tennis, table tennis, taekwondo, volleyball and weightlifting. A bunny named Neeraj was unveiled earlier as the Games mascot by Kerala State Education Minister Sivankutty in honor of India’s first athlete to win an Olympic gold medal in an Olympic event. athletics, Neeraj Chopra. Meanwhile, players who returned with medals from the Tokyo 2020 Olympics were also honored at the inauguration ceremony on Saturday.

Learn more about the inauguration ceremony

Boxer MC Mary Kom has been awarded the Kerala Olympic Association Lifetime Achievement Award by the Government of Kerala. Hockey player PR Sreejesh, wrestlers Ravi Dahiya and Bajrang Punia were also honored at the inauguration ceremony. Olympians Sajan Prakash, KT Irfan, Alex Antony MP Jabir also received honors.

(Image: ANI/@drgkishore2008/Twitter)

Naomi C. Amerson